Up-Rory-ous Confessions of a Gilmore Guy

I have been wanting to do this for a while but I somehow end up copping out each time. I have something very important to tell you all and I want to get this out right. I only came to terms with this a couple of years ago. Other than my adorable little sister, the only other person who knows of this is a dear friend of mine (currently selling her soul to the Corporate Devil in London). I feel that I cannot hold onto this anymore and finally feel comfortable enough to share this with all of you.

I. Love. Gilmore Girls.

Yes, I thoroughly do. I know I’m not the first guy to come out of the Gilmore closet, considering the work these guys are doing. But I still intend to be a voice for the rest of us out there. Hopefully, after reading this, many more will summon up the courage to confess.

Once upon a moment of unconscious coupling…

2

It all happened a few years ago when my sister was watching the show late at night and I happened to catch a glance of it. I was terribly drowsy and soon fell asleep after the episode concluded. But the show must have made quite an impression on me, as my mind was a victim of a coup d’état which induced Gilmorean dreams. It was a moment of unconscious coupling. Nope, not the Gwyneth Paltrow euphemism for a divorce. The exact opposite.

I remember watching the show briefly when I was a kid and not quite able to follow it as I was overwhelmed by the velocity of words. Now, older and wiser, I was able to comprehend and embrace its characteristic fast-paced dialogue spiced up with pop-culture references.

The binge began with calling off plans with friends under the pretense that I was a bit tired and wanted to catch up on Breaking Bad. With that little white lie, started my renewed secretive affair with the show behind closed doors. Considering the cultural bias against shows about strong women and the social stigma surrounding men who watch such shows, can you blame me for being tightlipped?

Oy, enough with the confessions already!

9
An entourage of static, homophobic, misogynistic and shallow characters.

I had to pretend to like Entourage through my years in college, just to belong. But now with my newfound fortitude, I confess that I’d rather watch Gilmore Girls than Entourage. A show about a group of sociable but extroverted assholes who regard LA as their personal playground and brothel, just doesn’t appeal to me anymore. I can’t bear to hear another terribly offensive comment from Turtle about screwing some “hoes” or another homophobic rant from Ari. I’m sorry. I’d much rather hear witty banter between a mother and a daughter than more senseless, repetitive chattering among “the Entourage”.

Call me “effeminate”, “queer” or “closet queen”. But that’s the truth.

Why I love Gilmore Girls?

6

It’s not the most up-Rory-ous show ever made. Nor is it the greatest coming-of-age tale. What it lacks in portrayal of the more serious teenage and familial problems, it makes up for with its distinct portrayal of a mother-daughter relationship like no other. What may seem like a tedious soap-operatic plot at the surface, is actually a show about identity, empowerment and family.

The show, created by Amy Sherman-Palladino, deals with the lives of the titular Gilmores, a mother and daughter, Lorelai and Rory (short for Lorelai). In the words of Rory in the pilot episode, “It’s my mother’s name, too. She named me after herself. She was lying in the hospital thinking about how men name boys after themselves all the time, you know, so why couldn’t women? She says her feminism just kind of took over. Though personally I think a lot of Demerol also went into that decision.”

The story is set in the colorfully idyllic town of Stars Hollow and depicts the protagonists’ daily experiences as they journey together through their personal, professional and love lives. Domineering parents and idiosyncratic townsfolk along with Lorelai and Rory’s professional endeavors make for stimulating drama.

The show is known for its clever writing infused with sarcastic, light-hearted comedy and cultural references. It has a strong cast led by Lauren Graham, whose charm and eloquence help her dominate a large part of most conversations.

8

Alexis Bledel perfectly blends Rory’s precociousness, adorability and teenage angst. And honestly, why the teenage me, despite not comprehending what the hell was going on, stayed glued to the telly. But now, after her delightful valedictorian speech, where she notes, “I live in two worlds. One is a world of books. I’ve been a resident of Faulkner’s Yoknapatawpha County, hunted the white whale aboard the Pequod, fought alongside Napoleon, sailed a raft with Huck and Jim, committed absurdities with Ignatius J. Reilly, rode a sad train with Anna Karenina, and strolled down Swann’s Way…” (The rest of the speech is here.), I fell instantly in love with the character. She’s right up there with Hester Prynne (The Scarlet Letter), Éowyn (The Lord of the Rings), Lisbeth Salander (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series), The Bride (Kill Bill), Buffy and other fictional characters that I admire and adore. What’s not to love about a girl who loves to read?

The supporting cast are all equally adept and remarkable, especially Kelly Bishop (as Emily Gilmore) and Liza Weil (as Paris Geller). It also had several cameos from celebrities who weren’t quite-so-famous yet. Like Family Guy creator Seth McFarlane, Mad Men’s Jon Hamm, Community’s Danny Pudi, Parks and Recreation’s Nick Offerman and others.

Pizza and coffee. It’s a lifestyle.

5

The show helped me better understand women in a way that Entourage never could. Not only is the show quotable and well-written, it teaches you various life lessons. It taught me to appreciate literature, pizza and my mother a little more. So, I implore other men, who are impeded by society and its various norms and stigmas, to give the show a try. Enough with Vince and the gang. Enough with your American Pie, National Lampoon and Hangovers. Watch something meaningful for once. It may turn out that you too are capable of embracing witty quips made at an unbelievable tempo.

Anyway, this is the start of a brand-new life for me. Having finally come out of the Gilmore closet, the fear and paranoia of getting caught watching the show, is now gone. And to the people, who will eventually hurl abuse and make hateful comments:

“Life’s short. Talk fast.”

And here’s my retort to the lot of you:

1

10 comments

  1. 🙂 greatest gg quote for me was from Paris.

    Random student: “Is it raining?”

    Paris (soaking wet): “No it’s national baptizem day…get your tubes tied”

    Like

  2. 🙂 this blog made me smile. However your quote a great on my favourite was from Paris.

    Random Yale student: “it’s raining?”

    Paris: “No it’s national baptism day. Get your tubes tied.

    This show is hands down my favourite show of all time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

